What is a Protected Filing Date (PFD) in a Social Security disability case?

Can't Figure It Out

The Protected Filing Date (PFD) is the date you contacted Social Security and asked to file an application.

What is so special about that?

The PFD is used to determine how far back your benefits can be paid.

What makes it “protected?”

Since the application process takes time, Social Security does not want to penalize you for delay between the time you ask to start an application and the time you actually finish it.

For example: if you contact Social Security on January 2nd to start an application (Social Security is closed on new year’s day), but do not turn in all the paperwork until February 1st, Social Security will use January 2nd as your protected filing date, even though you did not actually turn in your application until February.

This could mean an extra month of benefits for you.

=========================================================
Disclaimer: This is NOT legal advice. This site provides general information about Social Security disability cases in Colorado. To discuss your particular circumstances, please contact a lawyer in your area. Please review the full disclaimer .

About Tomasz Stasiuk

Tomasz Stasiuk is a Colorado Springs Social Security disability lawyer and the founding attorney of the Stasiuk Firm - a law firm specializing in Social Security disability cases in Colorado. Follow Tomasz Stasiuk on Google and Twitter

  • mg

    I started filling out an adult disability report online, then 7 weeks later I went for my interview at the social security office. I still didn't have the report finished and I was told they had finished it for me, but my application date would not go back 7 weeks, because I didn't apply at the time I started filling out the report. On the adult disability report they say they may use the day you start the report to figure your back pay.

  • Don

    I have a silly roommate: so I looked at her SSI statement for her. I
    just finished my college math so I did the break even problem with the
    numbers. What I found was if you started receiving at the minimum age
    the break even point is 43 months after your next elligability date.
    make it easy $1k for 72 months or $1.3k for 36 months and will you be
    there in 6 years? Or will SSI be there? Can't spell but can count!

  • Pingback: What is in a Social Security file? | Colorado Social Security Law

  • Pingback: You can't get Social Security disabilty benefits if you do not apply | Colorado Social Security Law

  • shaugh1

    How long of a period do you have to be tested for acidosis every 2 months? Type 1 diabetes listing: Acidosis occurring at least on the average of once every 2 months documented by appropriate blood chemical tests (pH or pC02 or bicarbonate levels);

  • shaugh1

    How long of a period do you have to be tested for acidosis every 2 months? Type 1 diabetes listing: Acidosis occurring at least on the average of once every 2 months documented by appropriate blood chemical tests (pH or pC02 or bicarbonate levels);

  • Pingback: What if the Judge Wants Me to Change the Date My Disability Began? | Colorado Social Security Law

  • Pingback: How far back does Social Security pay benefits? | Colorado Social Security